Genesis GV Forums banner

GV80 vs 2022 MDX?

11K views 33 replies 8 participants last post by  gundalow 
#1 ·
I've owned three MDX's; 01, 05, and currently have a 10. I've always liked the SH-AWD ride, and have been on autopilot toward the purchase of the 2022. However, the GV80 now has my attention, and may carry the day. I have yet to test drive either, so who knows. My intention is to go with the top trim level of whichever I choose.
My X's have had their share of issues over the years, the 01 tranny and the paint literally falling off of the 10, to mention a couple. The fit and finish is "luxury light", and the warranty is average at best. Having said that, it's still a very nice vehicle, and Acura has up it's luxury game some with the 2022. My biggest pre test drive concern being what appears to be a swing and a miss with the touch pad interface.
On the other hand, I have no experience with Genesis, other than a friend who owns a G80 and is absolutely smitten with the thing. I plan to take a lot of long road trips with the next SUV, and am very focused on seating comfort, handling, ride comfort, and road noise. I have no use for third row seating, for which there is no escape with the MDX, nor do I have any use for 22 inch wheels, for which there is no escape with the top trim on the GV80. The GV80 warranty is a big plus, but their relatively sparse dealer network may make it a PIA to get convenient service.
I plan to hold onto the vehicle for 8-10 years. Which means the way things are headed, this will likely be my last non-hybrid/EV SUV purchase. So, do I stick with the same old same old? Or take a chance on the intriguing upstart?
I tend to think that I can't really go wrong with either vehicle.

See less See more
#3 ·